Rank (German Import)
The Smiths

Rank (German Import)

Lista de pistas

  1. The Queen Is Dead
  2. Panic
  3. Vicar In A Tutu
  4. Ask
  5. Rusholme Ruffians (Marie's The Name) His Latest Flame (Medley)
  6. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
  7. What She Said
  8. Is It Really So Strange?
  9. Cemetry Gates
  10. London
  11. I Know Its Over
  12. The Draize Train
  13. Still Ill
  14. Bigmouth Strikes Again


12" Vinyl

Fecha de lanzamiento

Rank was released as a contractual obligation. It was recorded almost two years earlier on 23 October 1986 at National Ballroom in Kilburn, London, and is a fourteen-track distillation (of 21 songs) by singer Morrissey from the complete concert recording that had earlier been transmitted by BBC Radio 1. The album rode high on the Smiths nostalgia and the success of Morrissey's debut solo album, Viva Hate, earlier the same year.

According to the Smiths biographers Johnny Rogan and David Bret, Morrissey originally titled the album The Smiths in Heat. Rough Trade objected and Morrissey proposed Rank, "as in 'J. Arthur'" (J. Arthur Rank is Cockney rhyming slang for "wank").