Into the Labyrinth
Dead Can Dance 4AD

Into the Labyrinth

Track List

  1. Yulunga (Spirit Dance)
  2. The Ubiquitous Mr Lovegrove
  3. The Wind That Shakes The Barley
  4. The Carnival Is Over
  5. Ariadne
  6. Saldek
  7. Towards The Within
  8. Bird
  9. Tell Me About The Forest (You Once Called Home)
  10. The Spider's Stratagem
  11. Spirit
  12. Emmeleia
  13. How Fortunate The Man With None






13 oz

Released in 1993, Into The Labyrinth is Dead Can Dance's sixth album and total masterpiece.

One of their most successful releases, its title is a reference to the Greek legend of Theseus going into the Labyrinth to slay the Minotaur. It came when Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard had embarked on more individual personal paths, now writing their songs independent of one another, and on separate continents. Engineered and produced by Brendan at his Quivvy Church studio in Ireland, the album is an audiophile benchmark and also noted for being their first without any guests, instead they played all the instruments.