Come And Stay With Me: The Uk 45s 1964-1969
Marianne Faithfull Abkco

Come And Stay With Me: The Uk 45s 1964-1969

Track List

  1. As Tears Go By
  2. Greensleeves
  3. Blowin' in the Wind
  4. House of the Rising Sun
  5. Come and Stay With Me
  6. What Have I Done Wrong
  7. This Little Bird
  8. Morning Sun
  9. Go Away From My World
  10. The Most of What Is Least
  11. Et Maintenant (What Now My Love?)
  12. The Sha La La Song
  13. Summer Nights
  14. Yesterday
  15. Oh Look Around You
  16. Tomorrow's Calling
  17. That's Right Baby
  18. Counting
  19. I'd Like to Dial Your Number
  20. Is This What I Get For Loving You?
  21. Something Better
  22. Sister Morphine


2 x 12" Vinyl


Best Of Compilation On Mono Double LP.

Features Marianne Faithfull's top 20 hits, A & B-sides of the UK Decca singles recorded from 1964 - 1969, plus her Go Away From My World EP. Producers include Andrew Loog Oldham, Mike Leander, Tony Calder and Mick Jagger.

Marianne Faithfull's Decca singles are exemplary string-laden UK '60s pop and offer insight into both her roots and artistic development. Come And Stay With Me opens with Faithfull's first hit, her bittersweet 1964 version of the Mick Jagger/Keith Richards composition "As Tears Go By" (co-written with their manager Andrew Loog Oldham who changed the title from "As Time Goes By"), and closes with her original chilling 1969 rendition of the dark song, co-written with Jagger and Richards, "Sister Morphine". It was later remodeled by The Rolling Stones on their classic 1971 album Sticky Fingers.

Come And Stay With Me restores the focus upon the magnificent folk (a remarkable rendition of the traditional "Greensleeves", produced by Oldham) and popular music (including versions of Jackie DeShannon's "Come And Stay With Me", Donovan's "The Most Of What Is Least" and John D. Loudermilk's "This Little Bird") that Marianne Faithfull created at Decca as she stumbled towards writing her own material and moving towards a redemptive career path.