Somebody's Knocking
Mark Lanegan Heavenly

Somebody's Knocking

Track List

  1. Disbelief Suspension
  2. Letter Never Sent
  3. Night Flight To Kabul
  4. Dark Disco Jag
  5. Gazing From The Shore
  6. Stitch It Up
  7. Playing Nero
  8. Penthouse High
  9. Papaer Hat
  10. Name And Number
  11. War Horse
  12. Radio Silence
  13. She Loved You
  14. Two Bells Ringing At Once


2 x 12" Vinyl

Release date

July 2019




1.2 lbs

From the opening bars of "Disbelief Suspension" onwards, its clear that "Somebody's Knocking" is an album made by someone deeply obsessed with how music with all its primal, spiritual healing power truly penetrates the soul. As a result, theres joy in the music, as if created from a perfect set of inspirations smashed and grabbed from God's own record shop.

Some of the influences are oblique, others direct and fully respectful. From the Raw Power-esque garage metal grind of that opener to "Letter Never Sent" rocket-powered take on Love-era kaleidoscope-psych, through the pensive subterranean murk of "Dark Disco Jag" and on to "Playing Nero"s sun-bleached riff on Joy Division's "Atmosphere", theres the glee of infatuation running deep in the tracks. And, in some ways, that display of infatuation serves to change the very perception of Lanegan the artist this album being less the tale of a brooding, crepuscular rock'n'roll veteran and more that of someone consumed by a lifelong love of words and sound fused together.