Jane from Occupied Europe
Swell Maps Secretly Canadian

Jane from Occupied Europe

Track List

  1. Robot Factory
  2. Let's Buy a Bridge
  3. Border Country
  4. Cake Shop
  5. The Helicopter Spies
  6. Big Maz in "The Desert From The Trolley"
  7. Big Empty Field
  8. Mining Villages
  9. Collision with a Frogman vs. The Mangrove Delta Plan
  10. Secret Island
  11. Whatever Happens Next
  12. Blenheim Shots
  13. A Raincoat's Room


12" Vinyl


Secretly Canadian
Noisy and experimental, Britain's Swell Maps experienced little commercial success during the course of their chaotic career, but in hindsight they stand as one of the pivotal acts of the new wave: not only was the group an acknowledged inspiration to the likes of Sonic Youth and Pavement, but their alumni - most notably brothers Nikki Sudden and Epic Soundtracks - continued on as key players in the underground music community.