Galaxie 500 Aurora


Track List

  1. Flowers
  2. Pictures
  3. Parking Lot
  4. Don’t Let Our Youth Go To Waste
  5. Temperature’s Rising
  6. Oblivious
  7. It’s Getting Late
  8. Instrumental
  9. Tugboat


12" Vinyl




13 oz
Galaxie 500's influential 1988 debut, remastered for LP in 2009.

When Galaxie 500's Today was released in 1988, it set off a chain reaction of quiet explosions still being felt. Never before had a record so emphasized the calming elements of rock music, transforming what at first seems like a collection of bridges into fully realized songs. And one can draw a straight line from here to the many groups they influenced, like Low, Belle & Sebastian, and Bon Iver. Today is full of idiosyncrasies. The trio of Damon Krukowski, Dean Wareham, and Naomi Yang were recent Harvard grads who intuitively eliminated any histrionic tradition to rock songs, leaving core emotion behind.