Over The Edge
Wipers Jackpot Records

Over The Edge

Track List

  1. Over the Edge
  2. Doom Town
  3. So Young
  4. Messenger
  5. Romeo
  6. Now Is The Time
  7. What Is
  8. No One Wants an Alien
  9. The Lonely One
  10. No Generation Gap
  11. This Time


12" Vinyl


Jackpot Records

The bleak, hard-driven third LP by The Wipers (originally released in 1983) offers Greg Sage at his most chased and breathless, lashing out with sharp staccato notes as if melody were his only defense. While their debut LP provided the blueprint for grunge, and their second album recast the band as one of America’s premier postpunk bands, it’s Over The Edge that best exemplifies the Wipers’ sound. The jagged, effortless guitar lines, the paranoid lyrics and raw-throated vocals and the taut, unified rhythms that define their sound bleed together most clearly on this LP, and it stands as both the best entry point for new fans and the most prevalent favorite of diehards.

Remastered from the original tapes by Greg Sage and pressed on audiophile grade vinyl and packaged in a deluxe, tip-on sleeve.

About the artist


Initialized with the intent of being a recording project and not a band in the truest sense, Greg Sage formed Wipers in 1977 with drummer Sam Henry and bassist Doug Koupal. Sage's original goal was to release 15 records in ten years, free of traditional band aspects such as touring and photo shoots.

View all by Wipers