Youth Of America
Wipers Jackpot Records

Youth Of America

Track List

  1. Taking Too Long
  2. Can This Be
  3. Pushing the Extreme
  4. When It's Over
  5. No Fair
  6. Youth of America



12" Vinyl


Jackpot Records

Simply obliterating any conception of The Wipers as a mere punk band, Greg Sage released this follow-up to Is This Real? in 1981—a sophisticated, overwhelming response to the evil times marked by the turn of the decade.

Broken into six long songs, Youth Of America is a much colder, harrowing experience than the teen angst of their debut. Vocally Sage comes off as sleep-deprived and forsaken, snarling not only at his own predicament but at the predicament of the entire world. Mastered from the original tapes by Sage, pressed on high quality vinyl, and packaged in sturdy, old- heavy-duty jackets.

About the artist


Initialized with the intent of being a recording project and not a band in the truest sense, Greg Sage formed Wipers in 1977 with drummer Sam Henry and bassist Doug Koupal. Sage's original goal was to release 15 records in ten years, free of traditional band aspects such as touring and photo shoots.

View all by Wipers